Rothman: “Cyberattacks continue to be one of the greatest threats to our financial sector.”

WASHINGTON, D.C. (May 31, 2017) — The North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA) today announced that it will convene a day-long cybersecurity roundtable on June 23, 2017 to bring together leading experts to discuss the latest developments in cybersecurity and how small- and mid-sized investment adviser and broker-dealer firms can help protect critical client information.

“Cyberattacks continue to be one of the greatest threats to our financial sector and should be a top priority concern for entities regulated by NASAA members,” said Mike Rothman, NASAA President and Minnesota Commissioner of Commerce. “The NASAA Cybersecurity Roundtable will be a great way to provide important cybersafety information.”

The roundtable will feature representatives from the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the U.S. Department of Treasury, the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, state securities agencies, and financial services industry representatives for a discussion of critical cybersecurity issues for securities regulators and regulated entities.

Cybersecurity is a priority issue at NASAA and its member agencies. In 2014, NASAA issued a report addressing cybersecurity risks and preparedness among mid-sized investment advisers. In 2015, NASAA issued an investor advisory reminding investors of the importance of understanding how their personal information is being protected by financial firms.

The roundtable will be held from 9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. in the Spire Event Center, 750 First Street NE, in Washington, D.C. Seating is limited and on a first come-first served basis. For those unable to attend in person, NASAA is offering a virtual, live-streaming version of the roundtable. Additional information about the event is available here.

Registration Information:

NASAA is the oldest international organization devoted to investor protection. Its membership consists of the securities administrators in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, the provinces and territories of Canada, and Mexico.

For More Information:
Bob Webster | Director of Communications

Skip to content