image showcase

WASHINGTON, D.C. November 26, 2008 — The North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA) will host a Regulatory Reform Roundtable to outline the essential elements the incoming Obama Administration and the 111th Congress should consider to ensure that the ongoing policy debate over the future of the nation’s financial services regulatory structure promotes positive and progressive change on Wall Street for the benefit of Main Street.

The Roundtable is scheduled for Thursday, December 11 at the Phoenix Park Hotel, 520 North Capitol Street NW, Washington, DC. On-site registration and a light lunch begin at noon, with the program following from 12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m.

“The NASAA membership, which includes state securities regulators throughout the United States, has a long history of providing national leadership on issues of real concern to Main Street investors,” said NASAA President and Colorado Securities Commissioner Fred Joseph.

During the Roundtable, state securities regulators will present their recommendations to ensure that the new financial services regulatory structure is collaborative, efficient, comprehensive and strong. Joseph said policymakers can achieve these objectives by applying five core principles of regulatory reform:

  • Preserve the system of state/federal collaboration while streamlining where possible;
  • Close regulatory gaps by subjecting all financial products and markets to regulation;
  • Strengthen standards of conduct, and use “principles” to complement rules, not replace them;
  • Improve oversight through better risk assessment and interagency communication; and
  • Toughen enforcement and shore up private remedies.

The Roundtable is free and open to the public on a first come, first serve basis. To reserve a seat, please contact Lonnie Martin at, or 202-737-0900 by December 9. For directions, visit Additional event details will be available on the NASAA website,

NASAA is the oldest international organization devoted to investor protection. Its membership consists of the securities administrators in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Canada and Mexico.