NASAA President Appointed to SEC Investor Advisory Committee

WASHINGTON (June 4, 2009) – State securities regulators have joined forces with their federal counterparts to give investors a greater voice in Washington. Fred Joseph, president of the North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA) and Colorado Securities Commissioner, will serve on the newly created Investor Advisory Committee of the Securities and Exchange Commission.

“State securities regulators enjoy a unique proximity to Main Street America, providing us with a ground-level view of investors’ needs and concerns,” Joseph said. “I look forward to sharing this perspective and working with the members of the new Investor Advisory Committee to ensure that all SEC regulatory actions serve the best interests of investors.”

The Investor Advisory Committee, chaired by SEC Commissioner Luis Aguilar, will advise the SEC on matters of concern to investors and provide investors’ perspectives on regulatory issues. SEC Chairman Mary Schapiro announced the committee on June 3.

The 18-member Advisory Committee will be co-chaired by Richard (Mac) Hisey, President of AARP Financial Incorporated and AARP Funds, and Hye-Won Choi, Senior Vice President and Head of Corporate Governance for TIAA-CREF. The Advisory Committee will begin its work after the SEC staff files the Committee’s charter with Congress.

NASAA is the oldest international organization devoted to investor protection. Its membership consists of the securities administrators in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Canada and Mexico.

For more information:
Bob Webster, Director of Communications

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
2009 Headlines, Newsroom