NASAA Installs New President, Board of Directors

Colorado Securities Commissioner Fred Joseph Named NASAA President

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA, September 17, 2008—Colorado Securities Commissioner Fred Joseph today was elected to a one-year term as President of the North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA). He succeeds North Dakota Securities Commissioner Karen Tyler. Texas Securities Commissioner Denise Voigt Crawford will serve as NASAA’s President-elect.

NASAA is the oldest international organization devoted to investor protection. Its membership consists of the securities administrators in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Canada, and Mexico.

In an address at NASAA’s 91st annual conference here, Joseph said he will continue NASAA’s longstanding advocacy of the important investor protection role served by state and provincial securities regulators. “In the year ahead, I will pick up where my predecessors left off – by continuing to serve as a strong advocate for investors and for the state and provincial securities regulators who protect them,” he said.

Joseph also stressed that NASAA members and members of the financial services industry share a significant function in the lives of investors. “We’re on a mission,” he said. “All of us – regulators and industry alike – are on a mission to serve the best interests of investors. We are on a mission to help investors throughout North America maintain their confidence in our securities markets. We are on a mission to educate and inform investors so that they can make appropriate financial decisions. And we are on a mission to protect investors from those who seek to cheat them of their hard-earned savings.”

For the past year, Joseph has served as NASAA’s president-elect. Previously, he served as a member of NASAA’s Board of Directors and as NASAA’s Treasurer. Joseph has been with the Colorado Division of Securities since 1992, first as Deputy Securities Commissioner and since 1999 as Securities Commissioner. He has been a regulator in the financial services arena for 25 years. Prior to that, he worked in the banking industry.

NASAA also announced its 2008-2009 Board of Directors, including: President-elect Denise Voigt Crawford, Texas Securities Commissioner; Chris Biggs, Kansas Securities Commissioner; Joseph Borg, Alabama Securities Commission Director; Glenda Campbell, Vice Chair of the Alberta Securities Commission; Melanie Lubin, Maryland Securities Commissioner; David Massey, North Carolina Deputy Securities Administrator and Michael Stevenson, Washington Securities Division Director. Tyler will continue to serve on NASAA’s Board as Past President. Crawford will succeed Joseph as NASAA President in the fall of 2009.

For More Information
Bob Webster, Director of Communications

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
2008 Headlines, Newsroom