Panelists Set For NASAA Forum on Naked Short Selling

Experts to Gather November 30 in Washington

WASHINGTON (November 22, 2005) —The North American Securities Administrators Association, Inc., (NASAA) today announced participants for its upcoming “NASAA Listens” Forum to explore possible market manipulation through naked short selling activity. The forum is scheduled for November 30 from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. at the Paris Ballroom of the Sofitel Lafayette Square Hotel, 806 15th Street NW, in Washington, D.C.

The “NASAA Listens” Forum will bring together a panel of leading financial and academic experts to examine problems associated with abusive naked short selling and the impact of Regulation SHO on naked short-selling transactions. Connecticut Securities Director Ralph A. Lambiase will moderate the Forum. Panelists include:

  • JAMES J. ANGEL, Associate Professor of Finance at the McDonough School of Business at Georgetown University.
  • JAMES BRIGAGLIANO, Assistant Director, Division of Market Regulation, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.
  • PETER J. CHEPUCAVAGE, General Counsel of Plexus Consulting Group, LLC in Washington, D.C.
  • JOHN FINNERTY, Professor of Finance at Fordham University Graduate School of Business Administration and a Principal with Analysis Group, Inc.
  • ANAND RAMTAHAL, Vice President, Division of Member Firm Regulation, New York Stock Exchange.
  • ROBERT SHAPIRO, co-founder and chairman of Sonecon, LLC, and former U.S. Under Secretary of Commerce for Economic Affairs.
  • SUSANNE TRIMBATH, Chief Executive Officer of STP Advisory Services and Chief Economist.
  • NASD, a representative of the NASD has been invited.

Click here for details and biographies of each speaker.

The Forum is free and open to the public. Seating begins at 12:30 p.m. To reserve a seat, please contact Lonnie Martin at, by November 28. An audio-only webcast of the Forum also be presented live and archived on the NASAA website at

NASAA is the oldest international organization devoted to investor protection. Its membership consists of the securities administrators in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Canada, and Mexico.

For More Information:
Bob Webster
Director of Communications

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
2005 Headlines, Newsroom